Brighten Your Content Creation With The Elgato Key Light

Düssel York City Studios
8 min readJan 25, 2022

--

The Elgato Key Light by Corsair
Image courtesy from Elgato/Corsair.

Whether you are streaming from your home studio or creating vlogs, having proper lighting will have a direct impact on your production value as a whole. Luckily Elgato has the perfect solution to your lighting needs with their Key Light.

The Elgato Key Light was introduced in 2019 at CES and has since become an industry standard. Even in 2022, the Key Light is the highest-rated light for content creators. Granted Elgato has since produced the Key Light Air and Ring Light, but the Key Light itself still holds its own against the competition.

No matter if you want to have a 1 light setup, 2 light setup, or 3 light setup… the Elgato Key Light is the go-to light for professional and quality illumination.

Elgato Key Light on Amazon.com — https://amzn.to/3s8qCCf

Elgato Key Light on Amazon.de — https://amzn.to/3rS6p38

Make sure to follow Dussel York City Studios on YouTube.

The “Key Features” (Pun Intended)…

Specifications

The specs of the Elgato Key Light.
The specifications of the Elgato Key Light
  • Totally wireless control
  • Low heat output
  • High-quality OSRAM LEDs
  • Small form factor
  • Glare-free diffusion
  • Stream Deck compatible
  • 2800 Lumens
  • Adjustable color temperature
  • Adjustable brightness
  • Desk clamp tripod included

Size & Mounting

One of the key features of the Elgato Key Light its size. A traditional light stand is around 2 feet in diameter. Thus, if you are placing a traditional light behind your desk then you are eating up a lot of room. Because of the Key Light’s small size, you really save a lot of space.

The Elgato Master Mount L (Multi Mount) allows you to clamp the Key Light to a table-style desk that is up to 3 inches thick. Then your desk can be placed flush against the wall. The light itself has a very thin profile, unlike bulkier alternatives and that makes a big difference. I did this with my setup and it is a life saver when it comes to saving space in my NARROW home studio.

The clamp is quite diesel (strong) in design and it has soft pads so you will not damage your desk.

If you are unable to clamp the light to your desk, you can order a Heavy Base from Elgato. Then just swap out the clamp for the base. Let’s face it when setting up a Home Studio, space is valuable and the more space you can save the better.

The Key Light can be extended quite high. The pole when not extended is roughly 22 inches and when fully extended about 49 inches. Not to worry the power cord is quite long as well. This alleviates any concern over dangling power bricks.

What I also love is the ball mount on top as it allows you to position your light at just the angle you want. Unlock some ball mounts it actually locks into place and stays there. So you do not have to worry about it moving. Once it is locked in place it stays there!

Controlling Your Key Light

Use the Elgato Control Center to control and manage multiple lights in your home studio from any mobile device.

First and foremost the Elgato Key Light is relatively easy and fast to set up and is completely wireless. Simply download the Elgato Control Center app to any mobile device or your PC if it has WiFi and you are ready to go. Controlling one or multiple lights can not get any easier.

The Elgato Control Center allows you to turn your light on and off easily. Additionally, you can adjust the temperature of the light and the brightness. Thus, giving you complete control of how your content will look.

Since my PC Tower does not have Bluetooth or WiFi integrated into it… I use the mobile app!

If you have an Elgato Stream Deck, then you can turn your light on and off with just the push of a button. It is just that simple. I will talk about the Elgato Stream Deck in an upcoming article.

The Light Itself

Diagonally the Key Light is round about 15 inches and is 1250 grams in weight. Thus, you do not have to worry about it tipping over on the pole.

The Key Light has 160 OSRAM LEDs which are defused by an opal glass panel. The panel works as the perfect light diffusion. Trust me… I worked in film, television and advertising in New York City before moving to Germany. Good diffusion is key to keeping hard shadows off the subject being filmed.

If you use a grid array type light… I can tell you the light will be very harsh and hard. That is something you want to avoid totally. Elgato provides the perfect solution with the Key Light. If you do use a grid array light, then you have to use a soft box or filter… where as the Elgato Key Light is a all-in-one type of light that stands perfectly on its own.

Because it utilizes LEDs it runs a lot cooler than old-school studio lighting. This is great because you do not have to worry about your lights heating up your room. I have streamed up to 5 hours using mine and did not notice a change in room temperature.

Streaming live on Behance with my Elgato Key Light.
My Elgato Key Light really rocks my weekly live stream for Adobe on Behance! Also using the Elgato Facecam in combination with the Key Light and it really sets my content on fire!!! Love it!

The maximum brightness is 2800 Lumens, which can be adjusted to your desire. It has a color range of 2900 to 7000 Kelvin… so it can go from really cool to really warm. Having this flexibility is important and essentially you become your own lighting director.

Another nifty fact, is that there are threads both on the bottom and side. Thus, it can be placed either vertically or horizontally. Elgato really has put you in control of how you want to set up your light.

Works well with Green Screen

The Elgato Key Light also works perfectly with Green Screen.

I personally prefer a real background when I stream as it gives my content a more genuine, authentic and humanistic feel. Ask my marketing students those are my favorite three words!

But for those who want to use a green screen to crop themselves out or add a virtual background then you can not go wrong with the Elgato Key Light. If you do want to use a Green Screen then you will need proper lighting for sure!

1 Light vs. 2 Light vs. 3 Light SetUp

When it comes to lighting, people always ask what is the best setup. My answer for starting out would be a two light setup… a Key Light and a back light of some sort.

If you are new to content creation whether you are gamer, YouTuber, educator or some one that simply wants to produce a vlog. My answer is always start out small and work your way up. If you decide you want to dive deeper down the rabbit hole you can.

In the image above, I have a two light setup. I have my Elgato Key Light and a GoVee Glide as back lighting. The GoVee Glide gives me an extra pop of color that sets me apart from the background. Maybe Elgato will create a programmable multi-colored light system such as the GoVee Glide (hint hint would be nice) in the future.

The Elgato Key Light in conjunction with their Facecam really has made a massive improvement to the look and feel of my stream. I will write an article about the Facecam soon!

This image showcases a three light setup that can be used by content creators.
Set up using three lights.

Ideally, a three light setup would be better. But it is not necessary when you are starting out. I would like to get the Elgato Ring Light as my fill light. The reason being, I could move the ring light from my home studio into my living room when I do big unboxing videos. I could opt for the Key Light Air, but I believe the Ring Light would be best in this case.

I plan on using the Elgato Ring Light as a third light (fill light) in my home studio. And a primary light in my living room for large unboxing videos.
The Elgato Ring Light will be the next addition to my home studio.

However, starting out with the Key Light and a back light will give your content the POP, ZING, PIZAZZ that it deserves.

Price

The price varies depending on what region are from. Here in Europe, it will run around 199 Euros. Although you can catch things on sale.

Now some of you will say there are cheaper alternatives and yes you might be right. Having the background in film, television and advertising I can honestly say you get what you pay for. If you want a high quality professional and reliable light then I would not skimp out and buy something cheap off Amazon.

Elgato produces products specifically for content creators, thus they want to provide you with the best product for your money. There are also other lights out there that do cost more, but those lights also get very very very hot.

The other thing is Elgato has customer support. If you buy something for cheap off Amazon, my guess is you will not get the kind of support that Elgato provides (if you get any support at all from the other companies).

To put it simply they care about their customers.

Just another example of my setup with a brighter red background from my GoVee Glide.

Wrap…

I bought this light and I can tell you that I did my research prior to buying it. I can honestly say that I made the right decision.

The Elgato Key Light is the go-to light that professional content creators and hobbyists love. It is a professional high-quality light that will fit the needs of those just beginning their adventures into producing content to pros.

Since I started using my Key Light, I can say the quality of my streams has improved and my viewers have noticed it as well.

If you are considering a light, the Elgato Key Light is the way to go. Even you are just working or teaching remotely, the Key Light will enhance how you present yourself online.

So do not leave yourself in the dark, go out and get the amazing Elgato Key Light!

Düssel York City Studios is committed to creating content relating to trends in marketing, public relations, design, tech, software, creativity and games.

To learn more about Düssel York City Studios simply send a message to: dusselyorkcitystudios@gmail.com

FACEBOOK / INSTAGRAM / TWITTER / YOUTUBE / LINKEDIN / PATREON / Behance Live Streams Weekly

--

--

Düssel York City Studios

Founded by Kenneth Shinabery, DYC Studios provides information relating to Marketing, PR, Tech, Media, Design, Software, Games and Creativity.